Anyone know when I can get cheap hakama?

Shamoth
Dracolich

Anyone know when I can get cheap hakama?

Postby Shamoth » Sun Sep 30, 2012 11:59 pm

Hey
While I have some hakama I've managed to keep them relatively pristine and avoid ironing those amazing* pleats and I'm wondering if there are some inexpensive ones I could get my hands on so I can save my current pair for "best".

Any leads?

* choice of words may have been selected to suit forum acceptable language policy
"The name is Matsu Tomokata.... Matsu Tomokata Matsu Tomokata."
---
This disclaimer has been automatically added.

Storyteller
Night Dragon

Re: Anyone know when I can get cheap hakama?

Postby Storyteller » Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:37 am

KarateMart.com?

$37 US cheap enough? Probably have to add some postage ontop of that.

Note: That was from a google search. I have no experience with this vendor.
-----

Brad wrote:Assume Story knows nothing.

Shamoth
Dracolich

Postby Shamoth » Mon Oct 01, 2012 2:58 am

Storyteller wrote:KarateMart.com?

$37 US cheap enough? Probably have to add some postage ontop of that.

Note: That was from a google search. I have no experience with this vendor.

Hmm. Search the internets you say? I suppose I coooould.....
(With this one though "We currently only ship within the United States.")
---

Calliesky
LARP Org Mod
LARP Org Mod

Postby Calliesky » Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:58 pm

I have found a fairly good set of instructions for making your own, which I have used to rough up a bunch for npc gear. It does not innclude the solid back plate used in more modern forms of hakama but the upside is you can choose your own fabrics etc and they're easy to clean and repair.
Let me know if you'd like it ....

Alternatively any martial arts store can probably get you something for about the same price as any you could import but usually only in black or dark colours.

AndrewK
LARP Org
LARP Org

Postby AndrewK » Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:41 am